Quack quack: Duck Village

I was going through some of my older photos when I came across a few from a short visit to Duck Village so I thought that I would share.

Firstly you should know that It’s not your typical tourist attraction.

I found a few reviews before writing this which summed the place up as a bit ‘weird’ and all I can say to that is, well…esthetically, yes I suppose it’s not your average home for ducks but it’s a home nonetheless and since quirky is my thing, I quite like it.

_MG_1767small

A hanging teddy bear adorns one section… I guess the ducks like it?

Duck village is a little area set up on Manoel Island in Gzira and from what I can tell is run entirely on charitable donations.

_MG_1752small

As well as ducks, it’s also the home to a few cats, chickens, rabbits and guinea pigs all of which seem content with their lives.

_MG_1798small

Why not go and check this little haven out whilst you’re in the Sliema/Gzira area? Buy some bread from a local shop and go and feed our little quacky friends (don’t forget the bunnies and guinea pigs too!). There’s also a box to leave a little donation.

_MG_1785small _MG_1778small _MG_1773small _MG_1769small _MG_1765small _MG_1763small _MG_1742small

 

3 thoughts on “Quack quack: Duck Village

  1. Pingback: Top Travel LinksHannah and the World

Leave a comment