Vietnam – North to South

The next country on my year-long trip is Vietnam. I have to choose whether to take a long bus ride from Laos (which doesn’t sound too pleasant from reading other people’s experiences) or hopping on a plane which would be much more convenient and apparently is still a great way to travel over as you’ll get to see all the rice paddies from the air! I guess I have some time to consider this.

I’ll start from Hanoi and its surroundings in the North and then down to Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) formerly Saigon.

Here are the places I really want to visit:

Ha Long Bay

Source: asthesunrisesoverthemountains.tumblr.com via Simone on Pinterest

Cat Ba Island

Source: amusingplanet.com via Simone on Pinterest

Tam Đảo

Source: pystravel.com via Simone on Pinterest

Ninh Binh

Source: farm4.static.flickr.com via Simone on Pinterest

I’m also really thinking that I need to learn how to ride a bike before next year! Yes, yes, it’s bad I know but it’s something I never quite got the hang of. Maybe the bikes have stabilisers?

Huế

Source: chikvacaciones.com via Simone on Pinterest

Hội An

Source: flickr.com via Simone on Pinterest

Nha Trang

Source: inspirationpix.com via Simone on Pinterest

Mui Ne

Source: theplanetd.com via Simone on Pinterest

Can Tho

Source: Uploaded by user via Simone on Pinterest

Looking forward to some fresh Vietnamese coffee too!

As always advice is welcome and if there’s a place I should visit that I haven’t mentioned (I’m 100% sure there is), feel free to leave me a comment.

4 thoughts on “Vietnam – North to South

  1. I can’t ride a bike either! And yes there were moments I wish I could so if you have the opportunity to learn, go for it. You’re very organised already, well done!

    • Hehe, I’m glad I’m not the only one! I will definitely try and get hold of a bike before I leave. Organisation isn’t my strongest point but I’ve been trying to be as much as possible this year and especially for this trip! :) Hope you’re enjoying Thailand!

  2. Hoi An was my favourite place through vietnam, Halong bay the most beautiful. Make sure you visit Vin Pearl Land in Nha Trang…an Asian take on disneyland- I was running back up the water slides again and again.Saigon for the city day trips- war museum, cathedrals and french colonial architecture. Also v cheap beer at the street bars :)

    Definitely need to work on your cycling skills…my primary mode of transport- after the bus ofcourse!

Leave a Reply

