First Stop – Laos

If you’ve been following my blog then you’ll know that my first stop in SE Asia is Laos. Maybe it’s the fact that Laos is the country that I’m particularly looking forward to experiencing. Perhaps I’ll regret starting in Laos and wish that I had left it as the last country I visit in SE Asia…or maybe it’s the best decision? I guess I’ll find out! If any experienced travellers read this, please feel free to leave me tips and advice!

Here is my general route through Laos. I’m really flexible on how long I stay at each place although I’ve read that a couple of days in Vientiane is enough.

Vientiane ► Phonsavan ► Luang Prabang ► Muang Ngoy ►Udomxai ►Luang Namtha ► Muang Sing ► Xieng Kok ► Huay Xai ► Luang Prabang (Slow boat) ► Vietnam!

Just looking at the route is intimidating! I’m so glad that I’ll have a month to do it all (or not all if I decide to stay somewhere for longer on the way).

Here’s a few extra bits of info that I picked up along the way:

Flying in to Vientiane – Fly into Bangkok and from there you take a connecting flight to Wattay International Airport.

Visa – Can be purchased on arrival. 2 passport photos needed and it costs about $30-35. Click here for more details.

For Maltese residents looking for Visa information, you can click here!

Here are a few pictures to keep me inspired (like I would ever stop being) and hopefully inspire you all too!

Source: google.co.uk via Jacoba on Pinterest

Source: 500px.com via Katlyn on Pinterest

Source: wikitravel.org via Ruth on Pinterest

Source: flickr.com via Aml on Pinterest

5 thoughts on “First Stop – Laos

  1. Have fun Simmy, it’s a great place. Try to make it to the North. It’s more rugged but fun to travel. Are you from Malta? I studied there for half a year – had a great time and even came back a year after. Malta is awesome.

    • Hey Phil, thanks! Yes I’ll definitely be going up to the North. I’ll be reading up on your blog later, it looks like you enjoyed yourself! How long did you stay in Laos? Yes, I’m from Malta (half Maltese, half English). I’ve been in Malta for about 11 years now! Glad you had a great time, did you go to the university here?

  2. Pingback: Luang Prabang, and all its beauties « Ricky Wallace

  3. Pingback: Laos: One of the last unspoilt destinations in South East Asia « Kansan Tours

  4. Pingback: Laos | Social Media Marketing Website Design, Graphics and Promo Videos Southeast Asia

Leave a Reply

